<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2025-10-03","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2025_7317 — Q&A — Minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance","title":"EBA Q&A 2025_7317 — Q&A — Minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 3 October 2025","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2025_7317","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"fa31bb53eb5df20f","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2025-10-03"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2025-10-03"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance/versions/2025-10-03","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance/versions/2025-10-03/rev/fa31bb53eb5df20f","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2025-7317-minimum-monetary-amount-of-professional-indemnity-insurance/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 3 Oct 2025 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2025-10-03","question_submitted_on":"2025-01-24","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2025_7317, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2025_7317, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2025_7317 — Q&A — Minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2025_7317 — Q&A — Minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2025_7317
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "Article 5(4) PSD2"
date: 3 October 2025
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2025_7317
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 3 October 2025"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2025_7317"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "EBA"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the EBA."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2025_7317, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2025-10-03"
  question_submitted_on: "2025-01-24"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2025_7317, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2025_7317, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 3 Oct 2025 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 3 October 2025 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2025_7317)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2025_7317 — Q&A — Minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | EBA |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2025_7317 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 3 October 2025; question submitted 24 January 2025 |
| **Legal basis** | Article 5(4) PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity insurance in ongoing supervision**

### Question

Are points 5.4, 5.7, 5.10 and 7.4 of EBA/GL/2017/08 guideline applicable only while applying for authorisation or in ongoing supervision as well? Is 50 000 per indicator minimal amount after authorisation procedure/first year as well?

### Background

Directive (EU) 2015/2366 (PSD2) article 5 (2 and 3) states that Member States shall require undertakings that apply for authorisation to provide payment services as referred to in point (7) and (8) of Annex I, as a condition of their authorisation, to hold a professional indemnity insurance.

PSD2 article 5 (4) states that by 13 January 2017, EBA shall, after consulting all relevant stakeholders, including those in the payment services market, reflecting all interests involved, issue guidelines, addressed to the competent authorities, in accordance with Article 16 of Regulation (EU) No 1093/2010 on the criteria on how to stipulate the minimum monetary amount of the professional indemnity insurance or other comparable guarantee referred to in paragraphs 2 and 3.

EBA published 07.07.2017 guidelines “Guidelines on the criteria on how to stipulate the minimum monetary amount of the professional indemnity insurance or other comparable guarantee under Article 5(4) of Directive (EU) 2015/2366 (PSD2)” (EBA/GL/2017/08).

In calculations the undertaking should use previous 12 months data. For undertakings that have not offered services at any time in the previous 12 months, competent authorities should use data forecasted by the undertaking for the purpose its application for authorisation. If the undertaking does not provide any forecasts relating to the data, or if the amount resulting from the application of the forecasted number of data is lower than 50 000, competent authorities should set to 50 000 the value for indicator in the formula.

EBA also has developed an Excel tool for calculating the minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity insurance and published that on its website: https://www.eba.europa.eu/publications-and-media/press-releases/eba-publishes-final-guidelines-professional-indemnity.

Situation: Undertaking has applied for an authorisation to provide payment services as referred to in point (7) of Annex I of PSD2. Undertaking is not engaged in any other business. Forecasts are rather humble, so minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity insurance for the first year is calculated 150 000 eur (based on points 5.4, 5.7 and 7.4 of EBA/GL/2017/08 guideline). Undertaking receives authorisation, start operations, but volumes are very small. By next review date (EBA/GL/2017/08 guidelines 9), for example after one year, undertaking has provided services in amount: number of initiated payment transactions in previous 12 months 15 units; value of initiated payment transitions 100 eur. Undertaking hasn’t had any requests for refunds. As guidelines does not explicitly tell, that 50 000 per indicator is minimal amount after authorisation procedure as well, then reviewed total amount of minimum monetary amount of professional indemnity insurance for the next year for such undertaking is 46 eur (based on points 5.2, 5.5 and 7.1 of EBA/GL/2017/08 guideline). EBA Excel tool calculates 40 eur.

***

### Answer

Guidelines 5.4, 5.7, 5.10 and 7.4 of the Guidelines on the criteria on how to stipulate the minimum monetary amount of the professional indemnity insurance or other comparable guarantee under Article 5(4) of Directive (EU) 2015/2366 (PSD2) refer to cases where an undertaking has not offered services at any time in the previous 12 months and has not provided any forecasts for that period. This includes cases where the undertaking has applied for authorisation or has just been authorised but has not provided services for longer than 12 months.

Where an undertaking has offered services in the previous 12 months, guidelines 5.4, 5.7, 5.10 and 7.4 do not apply.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2025_7317)

## Related Level 1 articles

- [Article 5 — Applications for authorisation](../../../articles/5.md)
