{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2025-07-11","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2024_7056 — Q&A — Credit [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit","title":"EBA Q&A 2024_7056 — Q&A — Credit [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 11 July 2025","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2024_7056","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"2cbfcc025b19ca01","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2025-07-11"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2025-07-11"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit/versions/2025-07-11","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit/versions/2025-07-11/rev/2cbfcc025b19ca01","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit/relations","source_line":"Answer prepared by the European Commission, published in the EBA Q&A tool · not legislation · published 11 Jul 2025 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"European Commission","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2025-07-11","question_submitted_on":"2024-04-12","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2024_7056, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2024_7056, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2024_7056","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the EBA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2024-7056-credit.md","body_sha256":"56c8b83b00543f8f498e65292031750bf768e6d2f0ab0c9c6c457b659b001058"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"EBA Q&A 2024_7056 — Q&A — Credit [Final Q&A]\"\nshortTitle: \"EBA Q&A 2024_7056 — Q&A — Credit [Final Q&A]\"\nanswer_id: EBA_QA_2024_7056\nstatus: \"Final Q&A\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: EBA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: in_force\nregulation: \"PSD2\"\npsd2_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"PSD2\"\ndate: 11 July 2025\nsource_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2024_7056\nlifecycle: \"Final Q&A\"\ntext_version: \"EBA Q&A register, 11 July 2025\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2024_7056\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the EBA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"European Commission\"\n  published_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_in: \"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"Answer prepared by the European Commission because it is a matter of interpretation of Union law.\"\n    locator: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2024_7056, field 'Answer prepared by'\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_answer\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2025-07-11\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2024-04-12\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2024_7056, field 'Final publishing date'\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2024_7056, field 'Submission date'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Final Q&A\"\n---\n\n**Answer prepared by the European Commission, published in the EBA Q&A tool · not legislation · published 11 Jul 2025 [Final Q&A]**\n\n*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 11 July 2025 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2024_7056)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2024_7056 — Q&A — Credit \\[Final Q&A\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | European Commission |\n| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2024_7056 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 11 July 2025; question submitted 12 April 2024 |\n| **Legal basis** | PSD2 |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |\n\n**Credit**\n\n### Question\n\nDoes this credit qualify as consumer credit, exclusively available to individual consumers? Or can it also be extended to legal entities?\n\n### Background\n\nIn accordance with Article 18 of PSD2, payment institutions are authorized to extend credit pertaining to payment services outlined in points (4) or (5) of Annex I.\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nAccording to Article 18.4 PSD2, Payment institutions may grant credit relating to payment services as referred to in point (4) or (5) of Annex I only if all of the following conditions are met:\n\n(a) the credit shall be ancillary and granted exclusively in connection with the execution of a payment transaction;\n\n(b) notwithstanding national rules on providing credit by credit cards, the credit granted in connection with a payment and executed in accordance with Article 11(9) and Article 28 shall be repaid within a short period which shall in no case exceed 12 months;\n\n(c) such credit shall not be granted from the funds received or held for the purpose of executing a payment transaction;\n\n(d) the own funds of the payment institution shall at all times and to the satisfaction of the supervisory authorities be appropriate in view of the overall amount of credit granted.\n\nAs no further limitations are provided in this provision, it is to be understood that payment institutions may grant credit related to payment services, as referred to in points (4) or (5) of Annex I, to any payment service users who, in accordance with Article 4(10) of PSD2, are defined as natural or legal persons using a payment service in the capacity of payer, payee, or both.\n\nDisclaimer:\n\nThe answer clarifies provisions already contained in the applicable legislation. It does not extend in any way the rights and obligations deriving from such legislation; nor does it introduce any additional requirements for the concerned operators and competent authorities. The answer is merely intended to assist natural or legal persons; including competent authorities and Union institutions and bodies in clarifying the application or implementation of the relevant legal provisions. Only the Court of Justice of the European Union is competent to authoritatively interpret Union law. The views expressed in the internal Commission Decision cannot prejudge the position that the European Commission might take before the Union and national courts.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2024_7056)\n"}