<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2023-01-06","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2021_6241 — Q&A — Calculation of “payment volume” for method B [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9","title":"EBA Q&A 2021_6241 — Q&A — Calculation of “payment volume” for method B [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 6 January 2023","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2021_6241","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"8d4e16aae1ca573c","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2023-01-06"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2023-01-06"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9/versions/2023-01-06","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9/versions/2023-01-06/rev/8d4e16aae1ca573c","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2021-6241-calculation-of-payment-volume-for-method-b-in-the-article-9/relations","source_line":"Answer prepared by the European Commission, published in the EBA Q&A tool · not legislation · published 6 Jan 2023 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"European Commission","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2023-01-06","question_submitted_on":"2021-10-19","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2021_6241, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2021_6241, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2021_6241 — Q&A — Calculation of “payment volume” for method B [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2021_6241 — Q&A — Calculation of “payment volume” for method B [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2021_6241
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "Article 9(1) PSD2"
date: 6 January 2023
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2021_6241
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 6 January 2023"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2021_6241"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "European Commission"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the European Commission because it is a matter of interpretation of Union law."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2021_6241, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2023-01-06"
  question_submitted_on: "2021-10-19"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2021_6241, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2021_6241, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer prepared by the European Commission, published in the EBA Q&A tool · not legislation · published 6 Jan 2023 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 6 January 2023 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2021_6241)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2021_6241 — Q&A — Calculation of “payment volume” for method B \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | European Commission |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2021_6241 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 6 January 2023; question submitted 19 October 2021 |
| **Legal basis** | Article 9(1) PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Calculation of “payment volume” for method B in the Article 9 of Directive EU 2015/36 (PSD2)**

### Question

Can you please clarify the definition of 'previous year' when computing the “total amount of payment transactions executed” referred to in the calculation of “payment volume” for method B in the Article 9 of Directive EU 2015/36 (PSD2) as to whether it should be the previous 12 months from the date of calculation, therefore a rolling calculation, or whether it refers to the 'previous accounting year'?

### Background

We believe that the calculation should be based on the previous accoutning year however our local regulator has suddenly changed this and interpreted it to be 'the previous 12 months'.

***

### Answer

Payment institutions, except those offering only services as referred to in point (7) or (8) of Annex I to PSD2 should, at all times, hold own funds calculated in accordance with one of the methods described in Article 9 PSD2, notwithstanding the initial capital requirements set out in Article 7 PSD2. The methods describe the inputs to be used in the calculation. The own funds requirements reflect the minimum amount of capital a payment institution should have at all times.

Method B uses only the “Payment Volume”, specifically “one twelfth of the total amount of payment transactions executed by the payment institution in the preceding year.”

No other costs or financial flows are considered.

At the moment where the own funds are calculated, usually on a month-end basis, the “preceding year” referred to in Article 9 is the full 12 month-period prior to the moment of calculation.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2021_6241)

## Related Level 1 articles

- [Article 9 — Calculation of own funds](../../../articles/9.md)
