<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2022-03-18","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2020_5249 — Q&A — Access to account for FinTech Solutions that incorporate [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate","title":"EBA Q&A 2020_5249 — Q&A — Access to account for FinTech Solutions that incorporate [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-02","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 18 March 2022","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2020_5249","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"02cd415f3a6180a9","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2022-03-18"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2022-03-18"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate/versions/2022-03-18","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate/versions/2022-03-18/rev/02cd415f3a6180a9","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2020-5249-access-to-account-for-fintech-solutions-that-incorporate/relations","source_line":"Answer prepared by the European Commission, published in the EBA Q&A tool · not legislation · published 18 Mar 2022 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"European Commission","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2022-03-18","question_submitted_on":"2020-05-13","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2020_5249, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2020_5249, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2020_5249 — Q&A — Access to account for FinTech Solutions that incorporate [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2020_5249 — Q&A — Access to account for FinTech Solutions that incorporate [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2020_5249
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "PSD2"
date: 18 March 2022
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2020_5249
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 18 March 2022"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2020_5249"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "European Commission"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the European Commission because it is a matter of interpretation of Union law."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2020_5249, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2022-03-18"
  question_submitted_on: "2020-05-13"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2020_5249, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2020_5249, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer prepared by the European Commission, published in the EBA Q&A tool · not legislation · published 18 Mar 2022 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 18 March 2022 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2020_5249)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2020_5249 — Q&A — Access to account for FinTech Solutions that incorporate \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | European Commission |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2020_5249 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 18 March 2022; question submitted 13 May 2020 |
| **Legal basis** | PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Access to account for FinTech Solutions that incorporate regulated services**

### Question

Do FinTech companies offer payment accounts by their use of regulated services as part of their offering and are they therefore required to provide access to accounts to Third Party Providers (TPPs)?

### Background

The question relates to the practical application of access to a payment account and in which cases a payer has the right to make use of payment initiation or account information services as per Article 66 paragraph 1 and Article 67 paragraph 1.

Article 66.1: Member States shall ensure that a payer has the right to make use of a payment initiation service provider to obtain payment services as referred to in point (7) of Annex I.

Article 67.1: Member States shall ensure that a payment service user has the right to make use of services enabling access to account information as referred to in point (8) of Annex I.

A payer has the right to make use of a payment initiation service provider or services enabling access to account information:

• it is clear that this is required if an institution directly offers a payment account as part of its own service offering and that the scope of what constitutes a payment account follows from the ECJ ruling and local regulator interpretations;

• it is unclear whether access to a payment account is required if the account is not part of the institution’s service offering, but an added feature by an unregulated entity as part of the latter’s service offering, as it is unclear whether such account constitutes a payment account.

The use case provided is not necessarily related to one specific company for which bespoke advice is sought, but rather reflects a wide range of FinTech service providers that offer users a solution that consists of two parts: its own offering (the dashboard as referenced in the use case) and the offering of regulated services as provided by a financial institution (like the issuance of cards, often under a whitelabel model). The solution and related dashboard/platform under which all services are accessed is offered by the FinTech and without the FinTech company there would not be such offering available.

***

### Answer

The information provided in by the submitter is not sufficient in order to determine whether the business model described includes the provision of a payment account that is accessible online, and which one of the involved providers is providing and maintaining such an account.

If the business model does include a payment account according to Article 4(12) of Directive (EU) 2366/2015 (PSD2) that is accessible online, access to the account should be granted by the service provider that is “providing and maintaining” the online accessible payment accounts for payers in accordance with Articles 4(17), 66(1)(4) and 67(1)(4) (PSD2), the so-called “account servicing payment service provider” (ASPSP).

Disclaimer:

The answers clarify provisions already contained in the applicable legislation. They do not extend in any way the rights and obligations deriving from such legislation nor do they introduce any additional requirements for the concerned operators and competent authorities. The answers are merely intended to assist natural or legal persons, including competent authorities and Union institutions and bodies in clarifying the application or implementation of the relevant legal provisions. Only the Court of Justice of the European Union is competent to authoritatively interpret Union law. The views expressed in the internal Commission Decision cannot prejudge the position that the European Commission might take before the Union and national courts.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2020_5249)
