<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2020-07-24","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2019_5046 — Q&A — Recording of card payments [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments","title":"EBA Q&A 2019_5046 — Q&A — Recording of card payments [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-02","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5046","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"f46906b1cc7df888","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2020-07-24"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2020-07-24"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments/versions/2020-07-24","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments/versions/2020-07-24/rev/f46906b1cc7df888","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5046-recording-of-card-payments/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2020-07-24","question_submitted_on":"2019-12-13","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5046, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5046, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2019_5046 — Q&A — Recording of card payments [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2019_5046 — Q&A — Recording of card payments [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2019_5046
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "Article 96(6) PSD2"
date: 24 July 2020
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5046
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5046"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "EBA"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the EBA."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5046, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2020-07-24"
  question_submitted_on: "2019-12-13"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5046, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5046, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5046)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2019_5046 — Q&A — Recording of card payments \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | EBA |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2019_5046 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 24 July 2020; question submitted 13 December 2019 |
| **Legal basis** | Article 96(6) PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Recording of card payments**

### Question

If a card has both an e-money and non e-money function, how should a payment be recorded? Should the recording be different based on the type of the reporting institution (for example, depending on whether is an electronic money institution (EMI) or a bank)?

### Background

Card payments should be reported differently under the EBA Guidelines on fraud under either Breakdowns C, D and/or F, depending on whether or not the card has an e-money function. However, it is not clear how card payments should be reported when the card has both an e-money and a non e-money function

***

### Answer

In accordance with Guidelines 2.11, 7.11 and 7.12 of the EBA Guidelines on fraud reporting under PSD2 (EBA/GL/2018/05) as amended by the EBA Guidelines EBA/GL/2020/01, data for card payments should be reported both by the payer’s payment service provider (PSP) (the issuer), and by the payee’s PSP acquiring the payment transaction (the acquirer), as follows:

from the issuer’s perspective, under the Data Breakdown C in Annex 2 of the Guidelines; and

from the acquirer’s perspective, under the Data Breakdown D in Annex 2 of the Guidelines.

By contrast, “transactions and fraudulent transactions where e-money has been transferred by an e-money provider to a beneficiary account” should be reported in accordance with Guideline 1.5 from the payer’s PSP perspective only, under the Data Breakdown F in Annex 2 of the Guidelines.

Where a card has both an e-money and a non e-money function, the reporting will depend on which function of the card was used to conduct a particular transaction. If a debit or credit card function was used, then the payment should be reported as a card payment transaction under the Data Breakdown C from the issuer’s perspective and under the Data Breakdown D from the acquirer’s perspective. By contrast, if the e-money function of the card was used, then the payment should be reported as an e-money transaction under the Data Breakdown F only by the issuer.

The type of the reporting PSP, namely whether it is an electronic money institution or a credit institution, is not a relevant criterion for determining how these transactions should be reported.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5046)

## Related Level 1 articles

- [Article 96 — Incident reporting](../../../articles/96.md)
