{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2020-07-24","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2019_5044 — Q&A — Recording of e-money [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money","title":"EBA Q&A 2019_5044 — Q&A — Recording of e-money [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5044","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"1e76c90d6ea52036","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2020-07-24"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2020-07-24"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money/versions/2020-07-24","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money/versions/2020-07-24/rev/1e76c90d6ea52036","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2020-07-24","question_submitted_on":"2019-12-12","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5044, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5044, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5044","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the EBA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5044-recording-of-e-money.md","body_sha256":"7a894a8330f50a0f82c0f60cd56376343413518cc577cf7d0e8f6ff2b094e418"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"EBA Q&A 2019_5044 — Q&A — Recording of e-money [Final Q&A]\"\nshortTitle: \"EBA Q&A 2019_5044 — Q&A — Recording of e-money [Final Q&A]\"\nanswer_id: EBA_QA_2019_5044\nstatus: \"Final Q&A\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: EBA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: in_force\nregulation: \"PSD2\"\npsd2_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"Article 96(6) PSD2\"\ndate: 24 July 2020\nsource_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5044\nlifecycle: \"Final Q&A\"\ntext_version: \"EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5044\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the EBA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_in: \"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"Answer prepared by the EBA.\"\n    locator: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5044, field 'Answer prepared by'\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_answer\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2020-07-24\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2019-12-12\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5044, field 'Final publishing date'\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5044, field 'Submission date'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Final Q&A\"\n---\n\n**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]**\n\n*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5044)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2019_5044 — Q&A — Recording of e-money \\[Final Q&A\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | EBA |\n| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2019_5044 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 24 July 2020; question submitted 12 December 2019 |\n| **Legal basis** | Article 96(6) PSD2 |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |\n\n**Recording of e-money**\n\n### Question\n\nIf a card issued by an E-money institution has a cash function, how should the cash withdrawal from that card be recorded? Should it be recorded on the debit card withdrawal, as the E-money breakdown section does not include a cash withdrawal category?\n\n### Background\n\nWe have been asked by an E-money institution how to record the cash withdrawals from cards issued by an E-money institution but with a cash function. We would appreciate you support on this.\n\nAccording to GL 1.5, payment service providers (PSPs) should report under Table F “transactions and fraudulent transactions where e-money has been transferred by an e-money provider to a beneficiary account”. Cash withdrawals with e-money cards are not considered as “transfers” within the meaning of GL 1.5.\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nIn accordance with Guideline 7.15 of the EBA Guidelines on fraud reporting under PSD2 (EBA/GL/2018/05) as amended by the EBA Guidelines EBA/GL/2020/01, cash withdrawals and fraudulent cash withdrawals using a card at ATMs, at bank counters and through retailers (‘cash back’), should be reported by the issuing payment service provider (the issuer) in accordance with the Data Breakdown E in Annex 2 of the Guidelines.\n\nAs regards reporting of e-money payment transactions, Guideline 7.2 provides that “when providing data on e-money transactions, the payment service provider (PSP) should include e-money payment transactions: a. where the PSP is identical to the payee’s PSP, or b. where a card with an e-money functionality is used.” However, this Guideline should be interpreted in conjunction with Guideline 1.5 which provides that “transactions and fraudulent transactions where e-money has been transferred by an e-money provider to a beneficiary account” should be reported in accordance with the Data Breakdown F. Cash withdrawals with e-money cards are not considered as “transfers” within the meaning of Guideline 1.5.\n\nAccordingly, cash withdrawals using cards with an e-money function, where the user redeems the e-money stored on the card by withdrawing funds, are out of scope of reporting under the EBA Guidelines on fraud reporting. By contrast, cash withdrawals using a payment card with a non e-money function, should be reported in accordance with Guideline 7.15 under the Data Breakdown E.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5044)\n\n## Related Level 1 articles\n\n- [Article 96 — Incident reporting](../../../articles/96.md)\n"}