<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2020-07-24","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2019_5043 — Q&A — Direct debts fraud reporting [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting","title":"EBA Q&A 2019_5043 — Q&A — Direct debts fraud reporting [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5043","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"9b75e58378de2484","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2020-07-24"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2020-07-24"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting/versions/2020-07-24","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting/versions/2020-07-24/rev/9b75e58378de2484","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5043-direct-debts-fraud-reporting/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2020-07-24","question_submitted_on":"2019-12-12","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5043, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5043, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2019_5043 — Q&A — Direct debts fraud reporting [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2019_5043 — Q&A — Direct debts fraud reporting [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2019_5043
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "Article 96(6) PSD2"
date: 24 July 2020
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5043
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5043"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "EBA"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the EBA."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5043, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2020-07-24"
  question_submitted_on: "2019-12-12"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5043, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5043, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5043)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2019_5043 — Q&A — Direct debts fraud reporting \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | EBA |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2019_5043 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 24 July 2020; question submitted 12 December 2019 |
| **Legal basis** | Article 96(6) PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Direct debts fraud reporting**

### Question

In relation to the direct debits fraud, please clarify the reporting criteria for direct debit fraud.

### Background

According to GL 6.2 of the EBA Guidelines on fraud reporting under PSD2 addressed to payment services providers (PSPs), PSPs “should report all fraudulent payment transactions from the time fraud has been detected, such as through a customer complaint or other means, regardless of whether or not the case related to the fraudulent payment transaction has been closed by the time the data are reported.”

***

### Answer

In accordance with Guidelines 2.11 and 7.10 of the EBA Guidelines on fraud reporting under PSD2 (EBA/GL/2018/05) as amended by the EBA Guidelines EBA/GL/2020/01, the payee’s payment service provider (PSP) should report payment transactions and fraudulent payment transactions executed using direct debits in accordance with the Data Breakdown B in Annex 2 of the Guidelines.

In line with Guideline 6.2, PSPs “should report all fraudulent payment transactions from the time fraud has been detected”. In the context of direct debits, as clarified in paragraph 20 of section 3.2 of the EBA Final Report on the Guidelines on fraud reporting, refunds under eight weeks should not be automatically reported, as they do not always indicate fraud cases; such transactions should be reported only if they were subject to fraud and the reporting PSP was aware that this was the case, without implying any legal obligation to ask the payment service user whether this was the case.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5043)

## Related Level 1 articles

- [Article 96 — Incident reporting](../../../articles/96.md)
