<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2020-07-24","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2019_5041 — Q&A — Reporting of PISP initiated payments [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments","title":"EBA Q&A 2019_5041 — Q&A — Reporting of PISP initiated payments [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5041","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"aa69b86e6a0cdc7e","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2020-07-24"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2020-07-24"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments/versions/2020-07-24","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments/versions/2020-07-24/rev/aa69b86e6a0cdc7e","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-5041-reporting-of-pisp-initiated-payments/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2020-07-24","question_submitted_on":"2019-12-12","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5041, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5041, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2019_5041 — Q&A — Reporting of PISP initiated payments [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2019_5041 — Q&A — Reporting of PISP initiated payments [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2019_5041
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "Article 96(6) PSD2"
date: 24 July 2020
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5041
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5041"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "EBA"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the EBA."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5041, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2020-07-24"
  question_submitted_on: "2019-12-12"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5041, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_5041, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 24 Jul 2020 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 24 July 2020 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5041)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2019_5041 — Q&A — Reporting of PISP initiated payments \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | EBA |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2019_5041 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 24 July 2020; question submitted 12 December 2019 |
| **Legal basis** | Article 96(6) PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Reporting of PISP initiated payments**

### Question

Is there a requirement to segregate the Payment Initiation Service Provider (PISP) initiated payments which were executed without Strong customer authentication (SCA), by the relevant availed exemption used? Or are PISP initiated payments, only required to be presented in Bulk (Value, Volume, SCA/Non-SCA)?

### Background

We would very much appreciate if you could clarify the reporting breakdown applicable to PISP initiated payments.

According to GL 7.6 and Annex 2, Table H of the EBA GL on fraud, PIS transactions should be reported per type of channel (remote/non-remote), per type of authentication (SCA/non-SCA) and per type of payment instrument (credit transfers/other). There is no breakdown per reason for non-strong customer authentication envisaged for the PISP initiated payments.

***

### Answer

In accordance with Guidelines 7.5 and 7.6 of the EBA Guidelines on fraud reporting under PSD2 (EBA/GL/2018/05) as amended by the EBA Guidelines EBA/GL/2020/01, payment initiation services providers (PISPs) should report the executed payment transactions and fraudulent transactions they initiated, both by volume and value, in accordance with Data Breakdown H in Annex 2. Guideline 7.6 further clarifies that PISPs “should record and report data on volumes and values with the following breakdowns: a. geographical perspective, b. payment instrument, c. payment channel, and d. authentication method”.

There is no requirement for PISPs to include a breakdown of the transactions they have initiated depending on the reason for not applying strong customer authentication.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_5041)

## Related Level 1 articles

- [Article 96 — Incident reporting](../../../articles/96.md)
