{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2022-02-11","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2019_4811 — Q&A — The amount of a card payment transaction [Rejected question] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online","title":"EBA Q&A 2019_4811 — Q&A — The amount of a card payment transaction [Rejected question]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online","status":"rejected question","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 11 February 2022","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4811","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"32d2fd1f9798c80f","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2022-02-11"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2022-02-11"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online/versions/2022-02-11","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online/versions/2022-02-11/rev/32d2fd1f9798c80f","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online/relations","source_line":"Question published in the EBA Q&A tool · no answer · not legislation · published 11 Feb 2022 [Rejected question]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"not stated in the document","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_question","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2022-02-11","question_submitted_on":"2019-07-01","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4811, field 'Rejected publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4811, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4811","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the EBA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4811-the-amount-of-a-card-payment-transaction-authorised-online.md","body_sha256":"bc3e8a5e9d7774dbdad509290d45bf575fe695ac1790bd4f1472ba713469f4a6"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"EBA Q&A 2019_4811 — Q&A — The amount of a card payment transaction [Rejected question]\"\nshortTitle: \"EBA Q&A 2019_4811 — Q&A — The amount of a card payment transaction [Rejected question]\"\nanswer_id: EBA_QA_2019_4811\nstatus: \"Rejected question\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: EBA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: withdrawn\nregulation: \"PSD2\"\npsd2_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"PSD2\"\ndate: 11 February 2022\nsource_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4811\nlifecycle: \"Rejected question\"\ntext_version: \"EBA Q&A register, 11 February 2022\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4811\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the EBA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"not stated in the document\"\n  published_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_in: \"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"Competent authority\"\n    locator: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4811: no answer; the register names only the 'Type of submitter'\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_question\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2022-02-11\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2019-07-01\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4811, field 'Rejected publishing date'\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4811, field 'Submission date'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Rejected question\"\n---\n\n**Question published in the EBA Q&A tool · no answer · not legislation · published 11 Feb 2022 [Rejected question]**\n\n*Rejected question · EBA Q&A register, 11 February 2022 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4811)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2019_4811 — Q&A — The amount of a card payment transaction \\[Rejected question\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2019_4811 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | No answer · not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 11 February 2022; question submitted 1 July 2019 |\n| **Legal basis** | PSD2 |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |\n\n**The amount of a card payment transaction authorised online in HRK**\n\n### Question\n\nPlease clarify for card payment transactions authorised by the Payment Services User (PSU) in Member State A’s currency online on a web shop of an EU merchant that has an domain extension of Member State A, but that is not a Member State A merchant.\n\nThe payment service provider is an EU acquirer (not from Member State A).\n\nThe Member State A’s Payment Services Provider (PSP) issuing the payment card charges the PSU a different amount in Member State A’s currency (different from the amount that has been authorised).\n\nThe difference between the original and charged amounts is caused by a currency conversion due to a card transactions settlement in another currency (EUR, USD, etc.) in the Payment Scheme.\n\n### Background\n\nFollowing the payment service users (PSUs)' complaints that, when authorising card payment transactions on a web shop with an domain extension of Member State A in the amount of, for example, currency A 100, the Payment Services Provider (PSP) issuing the payment card later charges the PSU a different amount (for example, Currency A 105).\n\nThe Member State A’s Competent Authority asked the PSPs for an explanation and received the following response from the industry:\n\nThis situation occurs with card payments on a web (internet) shop of an EU merchant that has a domain extension of Member State A, but that is not a Member State A merchant, where the payment service provider is another EU acquirer (not from Member State A).\n\nAt the moment of a card payment, the transaction is presented to the cardholder in the amount expressed in Member State A currency. This is the only amount and currency to which the cardholder gives consent at the point of sale, i.e., the “original currency” of such a transaction is Member State A’s currency.\n\nThis is also the amount and the currency that the foreign merchant submits for further processing and settlement with Payment Schemes.\n\nHowever, the foreign merchant’s acquirer settles those card payment transactions with Payment Schemes in the chosen “settlement currency”, e.g., EUR, USD, etc. Such a settlement value is sent to card issuers.\n\nThe issuer receives the original and the settlement amount, as well as the currency. The billing amount and the currency for which the issuer charges the cardholders depend on the issuer’s regular cards’ foreign exchange set-up.\n\nSome card issuers charge their cardholders in the original amount and currency, i.e., in Member State A currency. However, other issuers convert the received settlement amount to the HRK value, which is different from the original amount in Member State A currency (due to different exchange rates and dates applied by the issuer), i.e., cardholders are billed in the Member State A currency amount, which is different from the original Member State A currency amount to which they gave consent at the point of sale.\n\nSince a foreign merchant and a foreign merchant’s acquirer participate in this chain, according to the industry's opinion, such cases are beyond the PSP issuers' control.\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nPlease note that as part of adjustments to the Single Rulebook Q&A process, agreed by the EBA and the European Commission, it has been decided to reject outstanding questions submitted before 1 January 2020, when the Q&A process was updated as part of the last ESAs Review. In particular, the question that you have submitted has now regrettably been rejected and will not be addressed.\n\nIf you believe your question would still benefit from clarification, you are invited to resubmit your question, adapting it to reflect any legislative, regulatory or other relevant developments that may have occurred since the initial date of submission. The EBA will aim to address resubmitted questions as a matter of priority. When considering to resubmit, you are kindly requested to observe the updated admissibility criteria agreed in the context of the adjustment of the Q&A process, available in the Additional background and guidance for asking questions. We hope for your understanding.\n\nFor further information please refer to the press release and the updated Q&A page.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4811)\n"}