<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2019-04-26","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2019_4507 — Q&A — Content of eIDAS certificates if agents or outsource [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource","title":"EBA Q&A 2019_4507 — Q&A — Content of eIDAS certificates if agents or outsource [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 26 April 2019","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4507","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"ce7abff8e97b6ee4","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2019-04-26"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2019-04-26"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource/versions/2019-04-26","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource/versions/2019-04-26/rev/ce7abff8e97b6ee4","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2019-4507-content-of-eidas-certificates-if-agents-or-outsource/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 26 Apr 2019 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2019-04-26","question_submitted_on":"2019-02-01","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4507, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4507, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "EBA Q&A 2019_4507 — Q&A — Content of eIDAS certificates if agents or outsource [Final Q&A]"
shortTitle: "EBA Q&A 2019_4507 — Q&A — Content of eIDAS certificates if agents or outsource [Final Q&A]"
answer_id: EBA_QA_2019_4507
status: "Final Q&A"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: EBA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "PSD2"
psd2_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "Article 14(1) PSD2"
date: 26 April 2019
source_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4507
lifecycle: "Final Q&A"
text_version: "EBA Q&A register, 26 April 2019"
source_url: "https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4507"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the EBA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "EBA"
  published_by: "EBA"
  published_in: "EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "Answer prepared by the EBA."
    locator: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4507, field 'Answer prepared by'"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2019-04-26"
  question_submitted_on: "2019-02-01"
  locators:
    published_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4507, field 'Final publishing date'"
    question_submitted_on: "EBA Q&A register entry 2019_4507, field 'Submission date'"
lifecycle_label: "Final Q&A"
---

**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 26 Apr 2019 [Final Q&A]**

*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 26 April 2019 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4507)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2019_4507 — Q&A — Content of eIDAS certificates if agents or outsource \[Final Q&A\] |
| **Prepared by** | EBA |
| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2019_4507 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 26 April 2019; question submitted 1 February 2019 |
| **Legal basis** | Article 14(1) PSD2 |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |

**Content of eIDAS certificates if agents or outsource providers are involved**

### Question

Who shall be the Subject Distinguished Name (DN) in the situation described in EBA Opinion on eIDAS (EBA-Op-2018-7) item 21? Does information on agents or outsource providers has to show up in the certificates?

### Background

The statement in EBA -Op-2018-7 Item 21 (Opinion of the EBA on the use of eIDAS certificates)

“CAs should also ensure that ASPSPs accept eIDAS certificates presented by agents or outsource providers acting on behalf of AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs, provided that the ASPSP is in a position to unequivocally identify the principal PSP in the presented certificate.“ seems to indicate that certificates in this situation have a different content.

Qualified Trust Service Providers (QTSPs) have to know which information is expected in the certificates.

***

### Answer

Article 34 of the Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/389 specifies that for the purpose of identification, as referred to in Article 30(1)(a), payment service providers (PSP) shall rely on qualified certificates for electronic seals as referred to in Article 3(30) of Regulation (EU) No 910/2014 or for website authentication as referred to in Article 3(39) of that Regulation.

Where a PSP providing account information, payment initiation or card-based payment instrument issuing services uses agents or has outsourced to technical service providers (TSPs) part of its activities, including in relation to the access to the online accounts held within an account servicing payment service provider (ASPSP), in line with paragraph 20 of the EBA Opinion on the use of eIDAS certificates (EBA-Op-2018-7), it remains responsible and liable for the acts of these agents and TSPs.

In addition and as stated in paragraph 21 of the EBA Opinion, ASPSPs should be in a position to unequivocally identify the principal PSP in the presented certificate.

In relation to the above two paragraphs, eIDAS certificates should be issued to authorised/registered PSPs and contain the name of said PSP in the so called ‘Subject Distinguished Name’.

Further, in line with paragraph 20 of the EBA Opinion, in the cases where an eIDAS certificate is presented to ASPSPs by an agent or a TSP acting on behalf of the PSP accessing the online account, if technically feasible, the name of the agent/TSP may be included in the eIDAS certificate in addition to the name of the principal PSP. ASPSPs are required to identify the principal PSP only.

Finally, it should be noted that there is no legal requirement to include the name of the agent in the eIDAS certificate.

***

**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2019_4507)

## Related Level 1 articles

- [Article 14 — Registration in the home Member State](../../../articles/14.md)
