{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2019-08-09","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2018_4230 — Q&A — Contactless transactions - SCA [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca","title":"EBA Q&A 2018_4230 — Q&A — Contactless transactions - SCA [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 9 August 2019","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4230","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"0ffad303f6a1dc5d","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2019-08-09"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2019-08-09"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca/versions/2019-08-09","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca/versions/2019-08-09/rev/0ffad303f6a1dc5d","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 9 Aug 2019 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2019-08-09","question_submitted_on":"2018-09-05","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4230, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4230, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4230","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the EBA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4230-contactless-transactions-sca.md","body_sha256":"3b04e7a5648086b20a58756c143bb46ce5781cd4273b4ea3c4dac0c0ae51812e"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"EBA Q&A 2018_4230 — Q&A — Contactless transactions - SCA [Final Q&A]\"\nshortTitle: \"EBA Q&A 2018_4230 — Q&A — Contactless transactions - SCA [Final Q&A]\"\nanswer_id: EBA_QA_2018_4230\nstatus: \"Final Q&A\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: EBA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: in_force\nregulation: \"PSD2\"\npsd2_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"Article 98 PSD2\"\ndate: 9 August 2019\nsource_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4230\nlifecycle: \"Final Q&A\"\ntext_version: \"EBA Q&A register, 9 August 2019\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4230\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the EBA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_in: \"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"Answer prepared by the EBA.\"\n    locator: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4230, field 'Answer prepared by'\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_answer\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2019-08-09\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2018-09-05\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4230, field 'Final publishing date'\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4230, field 'Submission date'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Final Q&A\"\n---\n\n**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 9 Aug 2019 [Final Q&A]**\n\n*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 9 August 2019 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4230)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2018_4230 — Q&A — Contactless transactions - SCA \\[Final Q&A\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | EBA |\n| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2018_4230 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 9 August 2019; question submitted 5 September 2018 |\n| **Legal basis** | Article 98 PSD2 |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |\n\n**Contactless transactions - SCA**\n\n### Question\n\nDoes the cumulative count / authorised sum amount apply to any contactless authorisation request, regardless if the request was approved or not?\n\n### Background\n\nThe context of the question is around the practical methodology for calculating whether or not for each contactless transaction the contactless exemption available cited in Article 11 of the RTS could be used. The questions is relevant as it raises an issue as to the practical and consistent application across the industry of the exemption.\n\nThe third of the three conditions for exemption from SCA in Article is:\n\nc) the number of consecutive contactless electronic payment transactions initiated via the payment instrument offering a contactless functionality since the last application of strong customer authentication does not exceed five.\n\nThe submitted question seeks to answer whether the authorisation decision of the previous five contactless transactions affects whether they are counted or not. I.e. does 'initiated' include all attempted transactions, or only those that were authorised and approved by the issuer?\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nArticle 11 of the Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/389 refers to the counting of contactless electronic payment transactions that have been executed. Further, Article 11(a) specifies an individual transaction limit of €50 and Article 11(b) refers to the cumulative amount of contactless electronic payment transactions that have been debited. Accordingly, when counting the number of transactions for the purpose of the alternative cumulative limit under Article 11(c), only those transactions that have been executed need to be included.\n\nHowever, if a Payment Service Provider (PSP) wishes to include all authorised transactions, regardless of whether they have been executed or not, it is not prevented from so doing.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4230)\n\n## Related Level 1 articles\n\n- [Article 98 — Regulatory technical standards on authentication and communication](../../../articles/98.md)\n"}