{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2019-02-08","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2018_4226 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the","title":"EBA Q&A 2018_4226 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 8 February 2019","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4226","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"e11f851f41406ed5","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2019-02-08"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2019-02-08"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/versions/2019-02-08","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/versions/2019-02-08/rev/e11f851f41406ed5","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 8 Feb 2019 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2019-02-08","question_submitted_on":"2018-09-05","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4226, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4226, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4226","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the EBA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4226-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the.md","body_sha256":"6c5dec7b3cc58839d41551bf3f9a274e3989c5fe81268104b83698997ac7f63b"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"EBA Q&A 2018_4226 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A]\"\nshortTitle: \"EBA Q&A 2018_4226 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A]\"\nanswer_id: EBA_QA_2018_4226\nstatus: \"Final Q&A\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: EBA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: in_force\nregulation: \"PSD2\"\npsd2_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"Article 97 PSD2\"\ndate: 8 February 2019\nsource_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4226\nlifecycle: \"Final Q&A\"\ntext_version: \"EBA Q&A register, 8 February 2019\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4226\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the EBA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_in: \"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"Answer prepared by the EBA.\"\n    locator: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4226, field 'Answer prepared by'\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_answer\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2019-02-08\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2018-09-05\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4226, field 'Final publishing date'\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4226, field 'Submission date'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Final Q&A\"\n---\n\n**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 8 Feb 2019 [Final Q&A]**\n\n*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 8 February 2019 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4226)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2018_4226 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications \\[Final Q&A\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | EBA |\n| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2018_4226 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 8 February 2019; question submitted 5 September 2018 |\n| **Legal basis** | Article 97 PSD2 |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |\n\n**Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications of the conditions**\n\n### Question\n\nWhat activity can be considered a proper application of strong customer authentication according to the Article 11 Paragraph b of the Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/389?\n\n### Background\n\nWe need to specify list of activities which are able to reset 150 € limit or 5 transaction limit for the card. Currently, we allow contactless transactions without strong authentication (PIN) for a cumulative limit of xxx € for x-days period (no CVM). This limit is divided into two parts.First part is dedicated for the offline authorizations (in chip), when this limit is exceeded, the online authorization (in our host) is required, where the second part of this limit is set (online). When the maximum amount for the offline authorizations is exceeded, the authorization (such as contactless payment) is declined. In such a case client gets a standard decline message which does not contain any information on why was the transaction declined nor that it is still possible to authorize the transaction as a contact transaction (with a PIN).\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nThe exemption under Article 11 of the Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/389 applies to contactless electronic payment transactions at point of sale, where strong customer authentication (SCA) does not apply. When the cumulative monetary amount or the maximum number of transactions without SCA is reached, the limit will be reset at the next non-remote payment transaction, contactless or not, where SCA is applied. This means that the counter could be reset either at a point of sale or an ATM transaction. The application of SCA for a remote transaction would not reset this limit.\n\nIn addition, as clarified in paragraph 43 of the EBA Opinion on the implementation of the RTS on Strong customer authentication and secure communication, “the cumulative limit is either the limit based on the number of transactions or the monetary amount (but not both)”.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4226)\n\n## Related Level 1 articles\n\n- [Article 97 — Authentication](../../../articles/97.md)\n"}