{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2019-10-11","gaps":[],"covered":["EBA Q&A 2018_4225 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the EBA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the","title":"EBA Q&A 2018_4225 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the","status":"final q&a","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"EBA Q&A register, 11 October 2019","check":{"against":"the EBA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4225","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"c9afaceafe02c631","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2019-10-11"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2019-10-11"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/versions/2019-10-11","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/versions/2019-10-11/rev/c9afaceafe02c631","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the/relations","source_line":"Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 11 Oct 2019 [Final Q&A]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"EBA","published_by":"EBA","published_in":"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2019-10-11","question_submitted_on":"2018-09-05","locators":{"published_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4225, field 'Final publishing date'","question_submitted_on":"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4225, field 'Submission date'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4225","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the EBA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/psd2/level-3/q-and-a/eba/eba-qa-2018-4225-contactless-payments-at-point-of-sale-applications-of-the.md","body_sha256":"2844f51398da811e7a43ec3659d6203a16973a9e371c18905a978b342040e3dd"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"EBA Q&A 2018_4225 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A]\"\nshortTitle: \"EBA Q&A 2018_4225 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications [Final Q&A]\"\nanswer_id: EBA_QA_2018_4225\nstatus: \"Final Q&A\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: EBA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: in_force\nregulation: \"PSD2\"\npsd2_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"Article 97 PSD2\"\ndate: 11 October 2019\nsource_link: https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4225\nlifecycle: \"Final Q&A\"\ntext_version: \"EBA Q&A register, 11 October 2019\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4225\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the EBA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_by: \"EBA\"\n  published_in: \"EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"Answer prepared by the EBA.\"\n    locator: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4225, field 'Answer prepared by'\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_answer\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2019-10-11\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2018-09-05\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4225, field 'Final publishing date'\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"EBA Q&A register entry 2018_4225, field 'Submission date'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Final Q&A\"\n---\n\n**Answer by the EBA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 11 Oct 2019 [Final Q&A]**\n\n*Final Q&A · EBA Q&A register, 11 October 2019 · Checked against the EBA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4225)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | EBA Q&A 2018_4225 — Q&A — Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications \\[Final Q&A\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | EBA |\n| **Published by** | EBA, in the EBA Single Rulebook Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | EBA_QA_2018_4225 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 11 October 2019; question submitted 5 September 2018 |\n| **Legal basis** | Article 97 PSD2 |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the EBA publication |\n\n**Contactless payments at point of sale - Applications of the conditions**\n\n### Question\n\nWith respect to Article 11 Paragraph b) of the RTS can we setup control for either 150 € or 5 transactions?\n\n### Background\n\nWe understand Paragraph b) in a way that it is possible for us (credit instituttion) to choose whether to control 150 € limit or 5 transactions limit or both of them. We consider that these levels are set individually per each card separatelly.\n\nDoes this mean that if we apply the limit for 5 transactions, the client is able to make transactions above 150 € without SCA, as long as its done in 5 or less transactions? Similarly, could the client perform more than 5 transactions if they are all below 150 €?\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nParagraph 43 of the EBA Opinion on the implementation of the Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/389 \\[RTS on Strong customer authentication and secure communication\\] (EBA-Op-2018-04) explains that the cumulative limit set in Articles 11 and 16 of the Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/389 “is either the limit based on the number of transactions or the monetary amount (but not both)”.\n\nConsequently, it is possible to make cumulative transactions above €150 under Article 11 (or €100 under Article 16 respectively) without the application of strong customer authentication (SCA) if less than five transactions have been made after the last application of SCA; conversely, it is possible to perform more than 5 transactions without SCA if the sum of all these transactions is below 150 € under Article 11 (or €100 under Article 16 respectively).\n\nThe EBA Opinion further states that “this means that it may be preferable for payment service providers (PSPs) to decide at the outset which cumulative limit they use (rather than on a transaction-by-transaction basis”. Consequently, the PSP may decide at the outset whether it will apply:\n\nthe cumulative monetary limit of €150 under Article 11 (€100 under Article 16), in which case the number of transactions could exceed 5, and apply it consistently for all transactions; or\n\nthe limit based on the number of transactions, in which case the amount of the transactions could exceed €150 (€100 under Article 16), and apply it consistently for all transactions.\n\nIn addition, as clarified in Q&A 2018\\_4182, PSPs may decide to apply these exemptions on a transaction-per-transaction basis, in which case the PSP would apply the exemption when either or both of the limits under (i) and/or (ii) above are reached.\n\nThe application of the exemptions under Articles 11 and 16 is without prejudice to the possibility for PSPs, based on their fraud management procedures, to request the application of SCA before any of the limits is reached.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [EBA original document](https://www.eba.europa.eu/single-rule-book-qa/qna/view/publicId/2018_4225)\n\n## Related Level 1 articles\n\n- [Article 97 — Authentication](../../../articles/97.md)\n"}