<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2023-05-30","gaps":[],"covered":["ESMA Q&A 986 — Q&A — Fees charged to CCPs in relation to access to trading [Question Published] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the ESMA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues","title":"ESMA Q&A 986 — Q&A — Fees charged to CCPs in relation to access to trading [Question Published]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues","status":"question published","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"ESMA Q&A register, 30 May 2023","check":{"against":"the ESMA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/986","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"8696f5a7578fe025","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2023-05-30"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2023-05-30"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues/versions/2023-05-30","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues/versions/2023-05-30/rev/8696f5a7578fe025","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-986-fees-charged-to-ccps-in-relation-to-access-to-trading-venues/relations","source_line":"Question published in the ESMA Q&A tool · no answer · not legislation [Question Published]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"not stated in the document","published_by":"ESMA","published_in":"ESMA Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_question","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"question_submitted_on":"2023-05-30","locators":{"question_submitted_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_986, column 'Date of submission'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "ESMA Q&A 986 — Q&A — Fees charged to CCPs in relation to access to trading [Question Published]"
shortTitle: "ESMA Q&A 986 — Q&A — Fees charged to CCPs in relation to access to trading [Question Published]"
answer_id: ESMA_QA_986
topic: "Access to CCPs and trading venues"
status: "Question Published"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: ESMA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: pending
regulation: "MiFIR"
mifir_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "MiFIR"
date: 30 May 2023
source_link: https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/986
lifecycle: "Question Published"
text_version: "ESMA Q&A register, 30 May 2023"
source_url: "https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/986"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the ESMA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "not stated in the document"
  published_by: "ESMA"
  published_in: "ESMA Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "ESMA_QA_986"
    locator: "ESMA Q&A entry ESMA_QA_986: no answer; no author named"
document_type: "qa_question"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  question_submitted_on: "2023-05-30"
  locators:
    question_submitted_on: "ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_986, column 'Date of submission'"
lifecycle_label: "Question Published"
---

**Question published in the ESMA Q&A tool · no answer · not legislation [Question Published]**

*Question Published · ESMA Q&A register, 30 May 2023 · Checked against the ESMA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/986)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | ESMA Q&A 986 — Q&A — Fees charged to CCPs in relation to access to trading \[Question Published\] |
| **Prepared by** | Not stated in the document |
| **Published by** | ESMA, in the ESMA Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | ESMA_QA_986 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | No answer · not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Question submitted 30 May 2023 |
| **Legal basis** | MiFIR |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the ESMA publication |

**Fees charged to CCPs in relation to access to trading venues**

### Question

Article 11 of RTS 15 MiFIR permits a trading venue to charge fees to a CCP in relation to access to the trading venue, which can include fees charged to cover one-off and ongoing costs. Can a trading venue that has already granted access to a CCP be permitted to charge new fees, whether one-off or ongoing, that were not agreed at the time of access, and if so, under which circumstances?

***

**Source:** [ESMA original document](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/986)
