<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2018-09-26","gaps":[],"covered":["ESMA Q&A 1691 — Q&A — Field 14 and Field 17 – Total issued nominal amount [Answer Published] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the ESMA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount","title":"ESMA Q&A 1691 — Q&A — Field 14 and Field 17 – Total issued nominal amount [Answer Published]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount","status":"answer published","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"ESMA Q&A register, 26 September 2018","check":{"against":"the ESMA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/1691","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"b4d0dc7a8ff1f2db","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2018-09-26"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2018-09-26"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount/versions/2018-09-26","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount/versions/2018-09-26/rev/b4d0dc7a8ff1f2db","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/mifir/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-1691-field-14-and-field-17-total-issued-nominal-amount/relations","source_line":"Answer by ESMA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 26 Sep 2018 [Answer Published]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"ESMA","published_by":"ESMA","published_in":"ESMA Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2018-09-26","question_submitted_on":"2018-09-26","locators":{"published_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_1691, column 'Esma responses', date line","question_submitted_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_1691, column 'Date of submission'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "ESMA Q&A 1691 — Q&A — Field 14 and Field 17 – Total issued nominal amount [Answer Published]"
shortTitle: "ESMA Q&A 1691 — Q&A — Field 14 and Field 17 – Total issued nominal amount [Answer Published]"
answer_id: ESMA_QA_1691
topic: "ESMA70-1861941480-56 Questions and Answers on MiFIR reporting"
status: "Answer Published"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: ESMA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "MiFIR"
mifir_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "MiFIR"
date: 26 September 2018
source_link: https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/1691
lifecycle: "Answer Published"
text_version: "ESMA Q&A register, 26 September 2018"
source_url: "https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/1691"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the ESMA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "ESMA"
  published_by: "ESMA"
  published_in: "ESMA Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "ESMA Answer"
    locator: "ESMA Q&A entry ESMA_QA_1691: field 'ESMA Answer', no 'Answer provided by' line"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2018-09-26"
  question_submitted_on: "2018-09-26"
  locators:
    published_on: "ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_1691, column 'Esma responses', date line"
    question_submitted_on: "ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_1691, column 'Date of submission'"
lifecycle_label: "Answer Published"
---

**Answer by ESMA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 26 Sep 2018 [Answer Published]**

*Answer Published · ESMA Q&A register, 26 September 2018 · Checked against the ESMA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/1691)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | ESMA Q&A 1691 — Q&A — Field 14 and Field 17 – Total issued nominal amount \[Answer Published\] |
| **Prepared by** | ESMA |
| **Published by** | ESMA, in the ESMA Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | ESMA_QA_1691 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 26 September 2018; question submitted 26 September 2018 |
| **Legal basis** | MiFIR |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the ESMA publication |

**Field 14 and Field 17 – Total issued nominal amount**

### Question

In the case of Bonds or other forms of securitised debt, what should be reported in Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2017/585 Annex Table 3 Field 14 (Total issued nominal amount) if the total nominal amount changes? Similarly, what should be reported in Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2017/585 Annex Table 3 Field 17 (Nominal value per unit/minimum traded value) if nominal value per unit/minimum traded value changes?

***

### Answer

\[ESMA 70-1861941480-56 MiFIR data reporting Q&A, Q&A 11.1\]

In the case of Bonds or other forms of securitised debt, a trading venue should update Field 14 (Total issued nominal amount) accordingly if the total nominal amount changes (increasing or decreasing). The same approach should be applied to Field 17 (Nominal value per unit/minimum traded value). Trading venues are not expected to report under Field 14 the total size of the issuance programme (i.e. the total nominal amount that can be issued under this programme) under which the specific instruments have been issued but only the nominal amount effectively issued for the specific ISIN being reported (and taking into account the tap issuances and buy-backs that might occur for this specific ISIN).

***

**Source:** [ESMA original document](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/1691)
