{"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2024-08-12","gaps":[],"covered":["ESMA Q&A 2248 — Q&A — Size Thresholds for Self-Managed AIFs and UCITS [Answer Published] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the ESMA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits","title":"ESMA Q&A 2248 — Q&A — Size Thresholds for Self-Managed AIFs and UCITS [Answer Published]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits","status":"answer published","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"ESMA Q&A register, 12 August 2024","check":{"against":"the ESMA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/2248","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"4fe32307b4c7f869","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2024-08-12"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2024-08-12"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits/versions/2024-08-12","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits/versions/2024-08-12/rev/4fe32307b4c7f869","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits/relations","source_line":"Answer by ESMA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 12 Aug 2024 [Answer Published]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"ESMA","published_by":"ESMA","published_in":"ESMA Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2024-08-12","question_submitted_on":"2024-08-12","locators":{"published_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_2248, column 'Esma responses', date line","question_submitted_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_2248, column 'Date of submission'"}},"adoption":null}},"provenance":{"official_url":"https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/2248","check":{"result":"matched","checked_at":"2026-10-26","against":"the ESMA publication"},"repo_path":"spaces/dora/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-2248-size-thresholds-for-self-managed-aifs-and-ucits.md","body_sha256":"c072f0f2745c2beb25fa5066c48975ab7163e03a692c5914ba7e7ce1463e2a84"},"units":[],"markdown":"---\ntitle: \"ESMA Q&A 2248 — Q&A — Size Thresholds for Self-Managed AIFs and UCITS [Answer Published]\"\nshortTitle: \"ESMA Q&A 2248 — Q&A — Size Thresholds for Self-Managed AIFs and UCITS [Answer Published]\"\nanswer_id: ESMA_QA_2248\ntopic: \"Digital operational resilience testing\"\nstatus: \"Answer Published\"\ntype: qa\ninstrument_type: qa\nauthority: ESMA\nbinding: false\nbinding_character: non_binding\nlegal_status: in_force\nregulation: \"DORA\"\ndora_level3: true\nmica_level2: false\nlegal_basis: \"Article 3 of the DORA Regulation points (60), (63) and (64)\"\ndate: 12 August 2024\nsource_link: https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/2248\nlifecycle: \"Answer Published\"\ntext_version: \"ESMA Q&A register, 12 August 2024\"\nsource_url: \"https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/2248\"\ncheck_status: matched\nverified: true\nlast_checked: 2026-10-26\nchecked_against: \"the ESMA publication\"\nsource:\n  prepared_by: \"ESMA\"\n  published_by: \"ESMA\"\n  published_in: \"ESMA Q&A tool\"\n  evidence:\n    prepared_by: \"ESMA Answer\"\n    locator: \"ESMA Q&A entry ESMA_QA_2248: field 'ESMA Answer', no 'Answer provided by' line\"\ndocument_type: \"qa_answer\"\nlegal_nature: \"not_legislation\"\naddressees: \"not stated in the document\"\ndates:\n  published_on: \"2024-08-12\"\n  question_submitted_on: \"2024-08-12\"\n  locators:\n    published_on: \"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_2248, column 'Esma responses', date line\"\n    question_submitted_on: \"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_2248, column 'Date of submission'\"\nlifecycle_label: \"Answer Published\"\n---\n\n**Answer by ESMA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 12 Aug 2024 [Answer Published]**\n\n*Answer Published · ESMA Q&A register, 12 August 2024 · Checked against the ESMA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/2248)*\n\n| | |\n|---|---|\n| **Full title** | ESMA Q&A 2248 — Q&A — Size Thresholds for Self-Managed AIFs and UCITS \\[Answer Published\\] |\n| **Prepared by** | ESMA |\n| **Published by** | ESMA, in the ESMA Q&A tool |\n| **Reference** | ESMA_QA_2248 |\n| **Document type** | Q&A |\n| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |\n| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |\n| **Dates** | Published 12 August 2024; question submitted 12 August 2024 |\n| **Legal basis** | Article 3 of the DORA Regulation points (60), (63) and (64) |\n| **Related instruments** | None recorded |\n| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the ESMA publication |\n\n**Size Thresholds for Self-Managed AIFs and UCITS**\n\n### Question\n\nWe have been discussing a number of queries submitted by the local industry regarding practical difficulties when applying the definitions of micro, small and medium-sized enterprises as per Article 3 points (60), (63) and (64) of the DORA Regulation to self-managed AIFs and UCITS. We would like to obtain further clarification on the correct and proportionate interpretation of “annual turnover”, “total assets” and “employees” in the context of self-managed AIFs and UCITS.\n\n***\n\n### Answer\n\nThis question has been rejected because it seeks confirmation of a requirement already clearly set out in the regulation.\n\n***\n\n**Source:** [ESMA original document](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/2248)\n\n## Related Level 1 articles\n\n- [Article 3 — Definitions](../../../articles/3.md)\n"}