<!-- headlesslaw {"release":{"id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","pinned":false},"limits":{"coverage":{"history":"current_only","held_since":"2023-04-11","gaps":[],"covered":["ESMA Q&A 766 — Q&A — Credit institution providing investment services [Answer Published] L3"],"not_covered":["national guidance","court decisions"]},"freshness":{"release_id":"a4f2a0495fe55b47323883f82977a9b34ab66171ec9623e39925d3a7045b6c81","release_published":"2026-11-01T16:41:30Z","checked_at":"2026-10-26","checked_against":"the ESMA publication"},"truncation":null,"failures":[],"incomplete":[]},"page":{"path":"/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or","url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or","title":"ESMA Q&A 766 — Q&A — Credit institution providing investment services [Answer Published]","family":"l3","work_id":"spaces/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or","status":"answer published","force_status":null,"date_state":"current","requested_date":null,"as_of":"2026-11-01","applies_from":null,"application":null,"version_label":"ESMA Q&A register, 11 April 2023","check":{"against":"the ESMA publication","on":"2026-10-26"},"check_result":"matched","official_url":"https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/766","valid_from":"0001-01-01","valid_until":null,"revision":1,"content_id":"da460d38cda45fad","change_date":null,"nearest_versions":["2023-04-11"],"first_text_date":null,"correction_applies":false,"versions":["2023-04-11"],"version_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or/versions/2023-04-11","revision_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or/versions/2023-04-11/rev/da460d38cda45fad","versions_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or/versions","relations_url":"https://www.headlesslaw.com/dlt-pilot/level-3/q-and-a/esma/esma-qa-766-credit-institution-providing-investment-services-or/relations","source_line":"Answer by ESMA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 11 Apr 2023 [Answer Published]","attribution":{"prepared_by":"ESMA","published_by":"ESMA","published_in":"ESMA Q&A tool","document_type":"qa_answer","legal_nature":"not_legislation","addressees":"not stated in the document","dates":{"published_on":"2023-04-11","question_submitted_on":"2023-04-11","locators":{"published_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_766, column 'Esma responses', date line","question_submitted_on":"ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_766, column 'Date of submission'"}},"adoption":null}}} -->
---
title: "ESMA Q&A 766 — Q&A — Credit institution providing investment services [Answer Published]"
shortTitle: "ESMA Q&A 766 — Q&A — Credit institution providing investment services [Answer Published]"
answer_id: ESMA_QA_766
topic: "DLT multilateral trading facility (DLT MTF)"
status: "Answer Published"
type: qa
instrument_type: qa
authority: ESMA
binding: false
binding_character: non_binding
legal_status: in_force
regulation: "DLT Pilot"
dlt_level3: true
mica_level2: false
legal_basis: "DLT Pilot"
date: 11 April 2023
source_link: https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/766
lifecycle: "Answer Published"
text_version: "ESMA Q&A register, 11 April 2023"
source_url: "https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/766"
check_status: matched
verified: true
last_checked: 2026-10-26
checked_against: "the ESMA publication"
source:
  prepared_by: "ESMA"
  published_by: "ESMA"
  published_in: "ESMA Q&A tool"
  evidence:
    prepared_by: "ESMA Answer"
    locator: "ESMA Q&A entry ESMA_QA_766: field 'ESMA Answer', no 'Answer provided by' line"
document_type: "qa_answer"
legal_nature: "not_legislation"
addressees: "not stated in the document"
dates:
  published_on: "2023-04-11"
  question_submitted_on: "2023-04-11"
  locators:
    published_on: "ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_766, column 'Esma responses', date line"
    question_submitted_on: "ESMA Q&A Excel export ESMA_QA_766, column 'Date of submission'"
lifecycle_label: "Answer Published"
---

**Answer by ESMA, published in its Q&A tool · not legislation · published 11 Apr 2023 [Answer Published]**

*Answer Published · ESMA Q&A register, 11 April 2023 · Checked against the ESMA publication on 26 Oct 2026 · [Official source](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/766)*

| | |
|---|---|
| **Full title** | ESMA Q&A 766 — Q&A — Credit institution providing investment services \[Answer Published\] |
| **Prepared by** | ESMA |
| **Published by** | ESMA, in the ESMA Q&A tool |
| **Reference** | ESMA_QA_766 |
| **Document type** | Q&A |
| **Legal nature** | Not legislation |
| **Addressees** | Not stated in the document |
| **Dates** | Published 11 April 2023; question submitted 11 April 2023 |
| **Legal basis** | DLT Pilot |
| **Related instruments** | None recorded |
| **Text on this page** | Word for word — the full text of the ESMA publication |

**Credit institution providing investment services or performing investment activities**

### Question

Should a credit institution authorised in accordance with CRD IV/CRR and providing investment services or performing investment activities in accordance with MiFID II/MiFIR be required to apply for an authorisation as an investment firm in order to operate a DLT MTF (distributed ledger technology multilateral trading facility)?

***

### Answer

Recital 38 of Directive 2014/65/EU states that credit institutions authorized under Directive 2013/36/EU should not need a separate authorization under Directive 2014/65/EU to provide investment services or perform investment activities. It also notes that the national competent authority should verify compliance with Directive 2014/65/EU before granting an authorization to the credit institution to provide investment services or perform investment activities.

This means that a credit institution does not need a separate license as an investment firm under Directive 2014/65/EU in order to apply for a DLT MTF license under the DLTPR but can rather leverage its existing licence under Directive 2013/36/EU.In that sense, recital 13 of the DLTPR, which notes that a credit institution should only be allowed to operate a DLT MTF when it is authorised as aninvestment firm under Directive 2014/65/EU, should be interpreted such that the competent authority should ensure that the credit institution complies with the provisions of Directive 2014/65/EU applicable to the service of operating an MTF as well as other relevant provisions of that directive when considering the need for an application for a DLT MTF licence under the DLTPR.

***

**Source:** [ESMA original document](https://www.esma.europa.eu/publications-data/questions-answers/766)
